Change in Two, Part 2: It’s Like Christmas – You Can Feel It Coming But the Presents Aren’t Wrapped

Disclaimer: These two posts are more reflective and personal than I’d normally put up, but I felt it was relevant to where I stand in the career path so I wanted to put it out there. Please excuse the self-indulgence (and ridiculous length). Read Part 1 of Change in Two

For the past few months I felt like I was on the edge of something big. I didn’t know what kind of change was brewing and whether it was going to be in my personal or professional life, I only knew it was coming. And now it’s begun!

The catalyst was definitely #TVnext, and the two weeks since then have been overflowing with thoughts, ideas, emotions and (probably most importantly) introspection. #TVnext managed to completely uproot my perceptions about the future of media. The event resonated with me so acutely that I haven’t even felt embarrassed about my 180-degree opinion change on things like the death of network TV.

Until now I felt a little lost in my professional life. I knew things I liked (video & film production, social media, writing/editorial, community engagement, marketing, and the social interactions around all these things) but I couldn’t define them in terms of today’s career opportunities. And though I feel like I have a much better grasp now, I know there’s a long way to go until I end up exactly where I want to be.

So…where do I want to be? I want to study and critique digital interactions.

Yeah, I know that’s a really broad statement, so lemme break it down:

I define digital interactions as the conversations that happen between consumers (audience) and with the content creators (networks, production houses) on platforms and applications like Facebook, Twitter, iPad apps, etc. I want to study these interactions in order to provide consultation to 1) the content producers and 2) the companies that create and maintain the platforms they occur on.

I also want to be able to take it a step further and put my observations into action by:

  1. Making it easier for the consumers to connect with each other, find like minded people and communities, and allow them to voice feedback to the content creators.
  2. Making it easier for the content creators to wow the consumers with their level of communication, respect for feedback, and technology.

That all being said, how the HELL do I get there? The worst part for me, ever impatient and compulsive, is the fact that it’s going to take time. And maneuvering. And possibly moving to a new city and starting my personal life over (yikes!!). But for the first time since Deron lit a fire under my ass, I know what I want and I will stop at nothing to get it. And what I want may change, and I’m ok with that. I’m FINALLY holding a compass that works and I’m not scared to follow it.

I’ve never really been religious, but over the past few years I’ve gotten a lot more spiritual. For years I’ve believed that you shouldn’t regret, and lately I’m holding on to the idea that at this moment, I am exactly where I’m supposed to be. I think that comforts me, especially given my control-freak personality. I don’t know what’s going to happen in the coming months and that scares me a little bit…but it also invigorates me. For the first time in forever I feel like options are materializing but I can afford to wait (however painful), weigh the choices, and then sprint off down the path that’s meant for me.

Ok. I’m done. Thanks.

One response to “Change in Two, Part 2: It’s Like Christmas – You Can Feel It Coming But the Presents Aren’t Wrapped

  1. Pingback: Change in Two, Part 1: You Have No Idea How Much This Decision Will Matter « It's ALL "Social" Media

Leave a Reply

